2013 NaNoWriMo Reference Card

There are many helpful and supportive articles on the net about November being National Novel Writing Month.  It would be unproductive for me to write yet another blog post about it beyond my own personal experience.  Since this is the first time I’m participating in NaNoWriMo, there’s not much I can say about it at this time.  I’ve uploaded my profile, and am leaving the door open for other NaNoWriMo participants to buddy up with me.

Who else is on the lookout NaNoWriMo buddies?

NaNoWriMo articles and help files

More information about NaNoWriMo

4 thoughts on “2013 NaNoWriMo Reference Card

  1. Thank you for the shout out, I hope you and your readers enjoy my site. Being a first year WriMo it is exciting to find other rookies to share the experience with.

    Where are you in your prep work? Are you doing any prep work?

    Like

    1. You’re welcome.

      I’ve written a blurb for the project and posted it up in my WriMo bio, and have the main story arc fixed in my head, but I’m not going to prep or plan further than that. I hope to capture the spirit of the writing technique that NaNoWriMo is mostly recognised for. Frantic quantity. Next year I might do something different, but I’d like to keep my first time ‘pure’ by my own perception.

      I also have a current book that needs my attention before WriMo begins, as my goal is to seek publication for it in the start of 2014. At the moment it’s a lot of editing and revision. If the end of October can offer me a mostly polished product, I won’t feel guilty about sacrificing my time away from it towards the WriMo work.

      I didn’t want to let this event pass me by again, though. It will never be the perfect time to do it.

      Like

  2. I’m very excited to see just how many people are participating in NaNoWriMo. I’ve already changed my planned project twice and may change it again. I’m normally midway between a plotter and a pantser and this time I’m trying to go pantser. Should be fun, anyway.
    Thanks for the pingback.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome.

      I got the impression long ago that NaNoWriMo is a device for pantsers. The fact there’s a lot of setup available for planners contradicts this idea, but I can’t shake it!

      I started writing as a pantser but I have completion problems using that method, so I swapped to detailed planning (full outlines of main plot, sub-plots, character sheets, time lapses, motivations, etc) and am doing better with that. I’m returning to a past method for my first WriMo, and maybe that’s why I’m tingling with excitement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

