My Self Publishing Journey: Day 5

A WHOLE LOT OF BOOK COVERS

Nano_FemmeI initially did a quick mock-up of the cover of Femme in October 2013, while I was planning in my mind for NaNoWriMo.  Designing the cover was a way of helping me shape the idea, of making it feel more real.  I got a few positive responses back from it from the NaNoWriMo community, and I believe I was lucky enough to find the correct image straight away.  My mock-up is going to reflect the finished product.

I paid for the image I’m using on the cover, which means it’s legitimately mine to use.  I discovered a site called 123RF.com (RF meaning Royalty Free), and signed up.  I purchased a number of credits rather than signing up for an ongoing membership as I won’t be using images on a monthly basis.  Purchasing a single image at the resolution and size I need is easy and convenient with sites like these.  I don’t have to worry about artist permission or copyright issues because I purchased it.  I paid $31 for 20 credits.  The image size I bought to suit a high quality ebook cover (I researched the necessary resolutions and sizes first) was worth 5 credits.  Essentially I’ve paid $7.75 for the image of the lovely blonde model.  It’s worth it.

I then used an online editor (I personally used both pixlr.com and picmonkey.com) to crop the image and add the necessary text.  I made sure that the image size resolution met the standard 1400 x 2100 pixels, and saved it as a JPG.  I might have to fiddle with the cover size as there are some readers that have different pixel sizes and ratio requirements.  The reason I’m doing this is because I plan on releasing different formats so that different devices can read them… including a standard PDF so that those readers who don’t own an e-reader can read my book on their computer screen.  I don’t want to limit myself by limiting my audience.  Of course the reading audience will be more interested in the content than the cover, but it sets the right tone when a cover displays correctly.  It’s within my ability so why not do it?

Last night I made a lot of book covers, since I’m releasing Femme in chapter instalments.  Each cover will clearly title which chapter lies behind it, (eg. Femme Chapter 1, Femme Chapter 2, etc) until I release the book as a whole.  Releasing Femme in a series format will give my potential reading audience the chance to ‘try before you buy’.  Hopefully my readers will be excited about the next chapter coming out at a set time/date (I haven’t yet decided how I’m going to work this).  Hopefully I’ll have more than four readers.  We’ll see.  I’m going to be as transparent in this process as possible, including my backup plan if this project falls flat.

Yes, I have a plan B.  I’ll tell you all about it whether I need it or not, but later.  Much later.  Right now I’m working with Plan A.

Leave a Reply

