Day 15: Five Repetitive Rules in Indie-Publishing

Lots of Books
I have read a lot of different articles and books about indie-publishing and they all say the same thing.

1. Be prepared for a lot of hard work.
2. Writing is your business, your books are your products, your readers are your customers.  You can survive financially this way.
3. Indie-publishing is a long term choice, overnight successes are lightning strikes that can’t be depended on, but hard work will win in the end.
4. The best way to promote your book is to write another, success has a cumulative effect. Each new product helps to sell older ones.
5. Every product speaks towards your reputation, so don’t release sub-standard material if you want repeat customers.

5 thoughts on “Day 15: Five Repetitive Rules in Indie-Publishing

    1. Thank you so much for your feedback, it’s really nice to know that documenting this process is helpful to others. Right now everything’s a bit slow moving because I’m in the ‘researching my formula’ stage, but once I get going I hope to give more reviews/feedback on my decisions/options.

      I’m also open to suggestions, as this is all a huge learning curve for me! 🙂

      Like

      1. That is awesome! I look forward to following your journey!
        I wish I had suggestions to give! I am in the process of attempting to transition from the life of a restaurant worker to a full time writer. I have been doing some research on freelance work, but was just starting to explore more for my creative side. I guess we are riding the same curve for now 🙂

        Like

      2. Any word that resembles change and unknown is scary. Haha. I definitely appreciate the advice. It is so easy for me to scare myself into paralysis. It is nice meeting other writers though and talking with them. It definitelty gives me hope.

        Like

Leave a Reply

