Day 54: Missed Deadline

I’ve missed the first deadline which will have a domino effect on the next few.  I was supposed to have Femme to my beta readers on the 1st of April but because I’ve added about 6K extra words to the manuscript (and will need about 8K more before it can be qualified as ‘fixed’) I know it’s going to take me to the end of this week before I hand it over.

I’d given myself a two week cushion for the launch date but didn’t want to lean on it this early.  Yikes!  So now I will write and write, and work and work to get this manuscript finished in time for feedback.  I can’t expect my beta readers to have the manuscript back to me without a decent time allocated to read it.  I know some of them will manage, but I would love to have all of their opinions.

I know how it happened: I’d almost finished the line edit and handed it over to one of my beta-readers early (my co-writer, Linda) who read it FAST and gave it back to me with a bunch of notes.  I saw no reason to hand out a flawed manuscript to my other readers so I made the decision to risk missing the first deadline and getting this manuscript as close to the finished product as possible.  I feel there’s no point getting feedback on something I already know I’m dramatically changing a few sections of.

It’s not the end of the world but I’m going to put my head down and finish this part as fast as I can so I can have some breathing and thinking time before the 30 May launch.

Leave a Reply

