State Library

slqI deposited my novel with the State Library of Queensland today.  They explain what is required of you and once you scroll down to the bottom of the webpage, there’s a link to deposit your eBook online.  I was pleased to simply upload the file and it was done – hey presto.  The library wanted a PDF version so I made sure that my PDF contained the ISBN within it.  I was surprised that they preferred a digital edition over the paperback edition, but I guess everyone needs space.  It certainly makes things easier at my end, and cheaper too!

Don’t forget to lodge your novel with your state (or country’s) library – it’s usually a legal requirement and at the very least, a lovely idea for our culture to collect all writings.

 

5 thoughts on “State Library

    1. Yes. I think it’s a little-known fact because traditional publishers just send off a copy and don’t bother to tell the author – it’s all part of the service. It’s the indie/self publishers who miss out on this little facet of information. I know you’re obliged to send a copy to the state libraries within Australia, and it’s required in NZ too, but I’m not sure about other countries. I suspect they have the same idea?

      Like

  1. Pingback: EBOOKS–Here to Stay and Then Some… | Hearts in Ruin

Leave a Reply

