My GISHWHES Story… uh… Stories.


GISHWHES
stands for ‘The Greatest International Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen’, and the organisation is the holder of 5 Guinness World Records.  It’s doing crazy stuff for a good cause; to quote their website: “Each year GISHWHES donates tens of thousands of dollars to the charity Random Acts and perpetrates thousands of charitable actions around the world.”

Recently and within minutes of one another, I had two GISHWHES team members (from different teams) contact me for fulfilling one of their items.  The item in question was:

Get a previously published Sci-Fi author to write an original story (140 words max) about Misha, the Queen of England and an Elopus.” Misha being Misha Collins, the genius behind the hunt and an actor on Supernatural, and a Elopus being an elephant/octopus hybrid, and the GISHWHES mascot.

gishwhes_smllogoNever to back down from a (literary) challenge, I accepted gleefully from both teams (thinking they were the one team).  Once I figured out that they were different teams, it was confirmed I could help them both but that I needed to supply original stories to both of them… which made sense.  So, task in hand, I created a couple of some very weird stories.  They weren’t hard to write, but knocking them back to 140 words was difficult.  It’s an awesome writing exercise though–and one that sharpened my crafting skills.  I couldn’t waste a single word and still get the message across.

I’ve posted my stories up on my website deliastrange.com, if you want to read them.

Leave a Reply

