Resistance Is A Murderer

I’ve been quiet lately. I’ve been Resisting.

Resistance is a thing. It’s not just a Star Trek Borg thing, either. For anyone that’s read The War of Art by Steven Pressfield (Amazon Link), you know all about Resistance. It’s the thing that kills your creativity. It’s the thing that kills your motivation. It’s the thing that stops you from doing what you’re supposed to.

thewarofart_stevenpressfieldExcuses. I’ve been full of them lately. I’ve lost four weeks of writing making them. Book One of my Wanderer series has suffered as a result; now I’m looking at a December 31 release instead of a December 1 release… maybe. Those four weeks have to go somewhere, if I’m giving myself enough time to get it edited. I’m cutting it fine as it is. I’d rather have a late release date than put it out before it’s ready. Imagine… a story that I’ve been fiddling around with for twenty years, coming out less polished because I couldn’t wait a few more months. That wouldn’t be Resistance, that would be Foolishness.

So this Resistance thing. Steven Pressfield has written a gorgeous book that I find motivational. It’s a book full of kick-up-the-backside truths. It’s a book full of your excuses being thrown back in your face. It’s a book I still haven’t finished reading all the way through, because I only get a certain of number of pages in before my attitude adjusts and I have to get to work.

I’ve discussed this book with the writers around me. Half of them say: “Oh yeah, I’ve read it” and the other half announce “You absolutely must read this book!” I am one of the latter. I obviously need a kick up the backside.

Unfortunately the Amazon page doesn’t give you a preview of what’s truly inside; it gives you the explanation and introduction, so I’ll leave you with a pearl of wisdom from within its pages.

Resistance And Procrastination: Part Two

The most pernicious aspect of procrastination is that it can become a habit. We don’t just put off our lives today; we put them off till our deathbed.

Never forget: This very moment, we can change our lives. There never was a moment, and never will be, when we are without the power to alter our destiny. This second, we can turn the tables on Resistance.

This second, we can sit down and do our work.

–Steven Pressfield, The War of Art

Leave a Reply

