The File > Compile Cheat Sheet: Part 2 Separator & Cover Images

Continued from Part 1: Folders & Contents

In this post I will be sharing my settings for the divider image insert that I use between scenes. Any time I changed a scene for a character or jumped ahead in time with that character (either a little jump or a lot), I would insert the scene divider as a visual break, kind of like a reader reset “scene change!”

If you want to check out what the end result of my compile looks like, Amazon’s Look Inside This Book feature for Axiom: Wanderer of Worlds 1 has enough of a preview that you will be able to see the Chapter Headings (and titles below) and how they show up in the Table of Contents, plus if you read through Chapter One, you’ll find the flourish dividers as well.


SEPARATORS

Import the image that you want to use as your scene break. File > Import > Files.

Screenshot Front Matter The image should be located in the Front Matter E-Book folder, along with the cover image. I called my divider image ebook_divider so I wouldn’t be confused.

I had a few different images that I wanted to compare so I called them v1, v2 and v3. I ended up with v3. The 150 you see at the end of the image name is the final divider size. I initially coded the size into the text separator line, it worked everywhere except in Amazon’s “Look Inside” feature. The preview showed a massive divider which looked silly so now I adjust the divider to the actual size instead of coding it.

Screenshot 2015-06-11 09.23.23

Text separator: Custom

This area is where your scene break dividers go. Now that the image is imported, a line of code goes in here to point to it. I code line breaks above and below the divider, otherwise the text from the scenes butts right up against it. White space makes it look pretty so I force it in.

A line break on a Mac is inserted as: CONTROL + OPTION + RETURN

I used ONE of these line breaks above my flourish code, and TWO line breaks below my flourish code. That centres the image between the two scenes.

The code for the flourish itself was: <$img:ebook_divider v3 150> where the image name is exactly as you saved it. I’ve bolded the code itself, the image name obviously changes to what you want.

Folder separator: Empty line. My folders are my chapter titles, so I leave this at “Empty line” which is the default setting.

Folder and text separator: Empty Line. Since my folders are my chapter titles, I want an empty line between my headings and when my text begins.

Text and folder separator: Section Break. When my text ends, I want to start a new chapter (via my folders), therefore I use a section break to start my new chapter on a new page.


COVER

Import the image that you want to use as your cover. File > Import > Files.

The image should be located in the Front Matter E-Book folder. Here I simply saved it as “Cover” over the top of the example, but I should really have called it “Axiom” so there would be no confusion as to whether I’ve done it or not.

Screenshot 2015-06-11 09.26.56

SVG (Advanced)… button: I just left this alone.

For reading in iBooks only: I leave this unticked.

Cover page title: Cover. This is what the cover page is called for the Table of Contents and is not the title of your book. “Cover” is the default option. I leave it as that.


Next post I will share my Formatting, Title Adjustments and Layout settings.

Cheers.

2 thoughts on “The File > Compile Cheat Sheet: Part 2 Separator & Cover Images

  1. Pingback: The File > Compile Cheat Sheet: Part 1 Folders & Contents | Strange Writer

  2. Pingback: The File > Compile Cheat Sheet: Part 3 Formatting, Title Adjustments & Layout | Strange Writer

Leave a Reply

