The File > Compile Cheat Sheet: Part 4 Transformations, HTML Settings and Replacements.

Continued from Part 3 : Formatting, Title Adjustments & Layout

In this post I will be sharing my settings for my chapter headings and sub-headings. I had a bit of a headache trying to figure out how to make my Prologue and Back Matter look different. I didn’t want my afterword and marketing pages to have title headers.

If you want to check out what the end result of my compile looks like, Amazon’s Look Inside This Book feature for Axiom: Wanderer of Worlds 1 has enough of a preview that you will be able to see how my formatting turned out.


TRANSFORMATIONS

Screenshot 2015-06-17 14.35.21

A straightforward option, as I didn’t convert any of my formatting. I had special locations where I was using double spaces as a design feature on some pages and that was the only reason I didn’t check the box:

Convert multiple spaces to single spaces

This is a very handy option for writers (like me) who fall back on the early brainwashing training of double spaces after a full stop. Every now and then I will still find sentences where I’ve done it. I would normally check this box.


HTML SETTINGS

HTML Settings

I believe these are the default settings but it makes sense to turn Scrivener links into hot links that all e-readers can understand and in case the black and white e-readers can’t discern what’s link and what isn’t, I like to keep the underline option on.


REPLACEMENTS

Replacements

The ultimate search and replace function. Gwen Hernandez explains how to use this succinctly.


Part 5 will display the settings I used for Statistics, Tables and Footnotes/Comments.

2 thoughts on “The File > Compile Cheat Sheet: Part 4 Transformations, HTML Settings and Replacements.

  1. Pingback: The File > Compile Cheat Sheet: Part 3 Formatting, Title Adjustments & Layout | Strange Writer

  2. Pingback: The File > Compile Cheat Sheet: Part 5 Statistics, Tables, Footnotes & Comments | Strange Writer

Leave a Reply

