Three… two… one…

I’m falling behind at NaNoWriMo at the moment. There are three reasons why; two of them would be something that would affect every writer, the last… well, see for yourself.

1. I ended up writing myself into a corner because of a flaw in the planned outline… I had to stop and figure out a new course of action. It’s better now but it set me back five days.

2. I stopped forcing myself to put in my dues and write the 1,666 words needed every day to meet the mark. Now I have to write over 3K words a day to meet the 50K goal. Achievable, but naaaaasty.

3. I downloaded my old copy of Rollercoaster Tycoon 3, and that shiz is addictive!

After my first success in 2013 NaNoWriMo (with some 53K words towards ‘Femme‘, the rest finishing in December), I began using it as a platform to write my series books… and it hasn’t paid off. I’m a writer that has used the method of outlining (planner) and spontaneity (pantsing). It appears I’m better off NaNoWriMo-ing in the latter style. That’s just what works for me.

Or I could, you know, just delete Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 off Steam… but that ain’t happening.

As a kid I used to watch this old show called 3-2-1 Contact, of which I have fond memories. It was a science show, and the show’s theme music is the grooviest music I have ever heard. Sucked in, Mythbusters.

2 thoughts on “Three… two… one…

  1. Sounds like you’re not doing too badly anyway. Better than me … I considered doing NaNoWriMo this year for the first time, but decided against it when I realised I had so much other stuff going on this month that it just wasn’t going to happen. And know you’ve got me curious about Rollercoaster Tycoon 3 things might get even worse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

